Since the Mississippi Real Estate Commission website looks like a blast from the past, it’s not surprising that it’s not particularly easy to navigate. That might not feel like a big deal at first, but it means that for the 7,500 brokers and salespeople throughout the state, the license renewal process can feel a little mysterious.
In fact, if you want to figure out precisely what’s required to renew your Mississippi real estate license, your best bet within the site is to pull up the Mississippi Code. Since that’s neither fun nor light reading, we can save you some trouble.
Your Mississippi real estate license expires every two years on the expiration date listed on your license. Check your license and mark your calendar so you don’t miss your renewal deadline.
If you do, you’ll have a two-month grace period, but your renewal fee doubles. If you miss that grace period, the Commission terminates your license.
The Commission requires most licensees to complete 16 hours of continuing education (CE) before they’ll be eligible for renewal. That said, if you’ve had your license for more than 25 years or you’re over the age of 70, you may get an exemption. You can email email@example.com to check.
The easiest way to make sure your hours will count toward your requirement is to take them from a Commission-approved education provider. Fortunately, the state has approved some distance learning courses, which means you can take your Mississippi real estate CE online.
After you finish your course, your CE provider has 30 days to report your completion to the state for you. That said, keep the certificate of completion you get for your own records, too.
Don’t confuse the CE requirement with the post-license education requirement, because they’re two separate things. You only need post-license education immediately after you first get your license. To convert your temporary license into a permanent one, you need to take 30 hours of post-license education within 12 months.
Once you get that permanent license, you can skip the CE requirement for your first renewal period. But during your second renewal cycle — and from then on — you’ll need 16 CE hours just like all other real estate licensees (until you’ve had your license for 25 years or turn 70).
State law requires you to maintain the same errors and omissions (E&O) insurance you bought to initially get your license. This is pretty simple: just make sure you keep paying your premiums to keep your coverage in force.
If you have questions or need to submit new proof of coverage, you can email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Your renewal costs:
That assumes you get everything in on time. If you’re late, you’ll have to pay double.
To send your renewal into the state on time, you’ll use their online portal. So you don’t have to keep track of a username or password, the Commission lets you log in with some info specific to you. You’ll need:
With all of that handy, you can get into the portal and start your renewal process. Remember, it — along with your CE completion and renewal fee — is due biennially by the expiration date on your license.