This 1 hour course on Connecticut laws and regulations fulfills the state elective requirement for annual renewal. Licensed mortgage loan originators in the state must take 8 hours of continuing education each year, with 3 hours being dedicated to Federal law, 2 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and this 1 hour of state-specific content.
The course begins with a discussion of the Abusive Home Loan Lending Practices Act, which was enacted in 2009 to prevent predatory lending. This section describes how high cost home loans should and should not be utilized.
We then look at Other Mortgage and Loan Practices, dealing with nonprime mortgage loans and appraisers, among other subjects. It's important to have an understanding of how other mortgage professionals operate, to better serve consumers.
We will then examine General Mortgage Statutes, which describe licensing information, referrals, and advertisements, followed by a look at prohibited acts. In the last section of the course, we will review some of the COVID-19-related policies adopted by the state and resources available to both consumers and mortgage professionals.
To promote comprehension, students will complete a 5-question quiz and short activity after each module. A 15-question final exam will wrap up the course.
Show Course ID: 1
- Course ID(s): 12950
- Approved By: NMLS
Mary Tillery, loan originator and Sales Manager at Guild Mortgage, in Grants Pass Oregon, has been actively involved in home lending since 1986. She has originated everything from first time homebuyers, to complex construction financing and reverse mortgages, besides all forms of more traditional lending. Mary combines her depth of knowledge with a sincere desire to know, love and serve her clients. She has been teaching home buying classes for 20+ years and loves to share her knowledge with not just her clients, but with people in the industry who are interested in growing.