This course is designed to address your 2021 Late CE needs.

This 1 hour course on Rhode Island laws and regulations fulfills the state elective requirement for annual renewal. Licensed mortgage loan originators in the state must take 8 hours of continuing education each year, with 3 hours being dedicated to Federal law, 2 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and this 1 hour of state-specific content. 

The course begins with a head-first dive into the Rhode Island Home Loan Protection Act, which is vital for MLOs to understand and follow. The Act works to reduce predatory lending practices in RI, and to protect consumers.

We next look at community obligations and banking offenses, through the subjects of title attorneys, title insurance, and real property mortgages. Each of these subjects come with many responsibilities and prohibitions that must be taken to heart. 

Finally, we will examine the Rhode Island Fair Housing Practices Act. This Act was created to protect specific classes of consumers. We will see which classes must be protected, and the penalties for violating the Act.

To promote comprehension, students will complete a 5-question quiz and short activity after each module. A 15-question final exam will wrap up the course.

  • Course ID(s): 13322
  • Approved By: NMLS

Instructor Bio

Mary Tillery real estate atyourpaceonline instructor

Mary Tillery, loan originator and Sales Manager at Guild Mortgage, in Grants Pass Oregon, has been actively involved in home lending since 1986. She has originated everything from first time homebuyers, to complex construction financing and reverse mortgages, besides all forms of more traditional lending. Mary combines her depth of knowledge with a sincere desire to know, love and serve her clients. She has been teaching home buying classes for 20+ years and loves to share her knowledge with not just her clients, but with people in the industry who are interested in growing.