AYPORealEstate.com

Utah MLO Continuing Education

We have been approved by the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) to offer you all the hours you need to renew your MLO license in one easy to use package that can be completed At Your Pace Online. Once you complete your course we will report your completion to the NMLS for you automatically. You can find At Your Pace Online on the NMLS approved provider list as 1 Above Ed, LLC (ID#: 1405040).

Licensed in multiple states? Feel free to enroll into any MLO CE course to start and contact us to set up a custom education plan for the remaining states where you are licensed.

$79 TOP SELLER

10 Hour SAFE Core and Utah-DRE Law 2021 MLO Package

clock hour icon 10h course

Mortgage loan originators in Utah can satisfy their full 10 hours of required continuing education for annual license renewal with this package. This package includes core and elective credit and will address these topics:

  • Federal lending laws such as the SAFE Act
  • ECOA and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • Ethics, fraud, and consumer protection
  • Non-traditional mortgage loan products
  • Mortgage markets and the Federal Reserve System
  • Recent amendments to state codes, licensing standards, unprofessional conduct to avoid, data security, and real case studies of application approvals, denials, and disciplinary actions taken against licensees in the state
$79

15 Hour SAFE Core, Utah-DRE Law, and Post-License 2021 MLO Package

clock hour icon 15h course

This package includes all of the training required to renew your MLO license for the first time. It includes these topics:

  • Federal lending laws such as the SAFE Act
  • ECOA and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • Ethics, fraud, and consumer protection
  • Non-traditional mortgage loan products
  • Mortgage markets and the Federal Reserve System
  • Recent amendments to state codes, licensing standards, unprofessional conduct to avoid, data security, and real case studies of application approvals, denials, and disciplinary actions taken against licensees in the state
  • Recent rule changes, Utah as a non-disclosure and non-community ownership state, licensing and renewal regulations, prohibited acts, advertising as an MLO, the authority of the Division of Real Estate, and mortgage loan products
$70

Late CE: 10 Hour SAFE Core and Utah Law 2020 MLO Package (12073 & 12067)

clock hour icon 10h course

This course is designed to address your 2020 Late CE needs.

This package includes all of the training required to renew your MLO license on your second and subsequent renewal. It includes these topics:

  • Federal lending laws such as the SAFE Act
  • ECOA and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • Ethics, fraud, and consumer protection
  • Non-traditional mortgage loan products
  • Renovation Mortgage Loans
  • Unprofessional Conduct
  • Disciplinary Case Studies
$59

8 Hour SAFE Core and Elective 2021 MLO CE Utah

clock hour icon 8h course

Mortgage loan originators can fulfill their core and elective continuing education requirements to renew their Utah license with this 8 hour comprehensive series divided into 7 hours of core and 1 hour of general elective. This course will address a variety of topics including:

  • Federal lending laws such as the SAFE Act
  • ECOA and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • Ethics, fraud, and consumer protection
  • Non-traditional mortgage loan products
  • Mortgage markets and the Federal Reserve System
$45

5 Hour UT-DRE: Post Licensure Continuing Education Course

clock hour icon 5h course

This class is a 5 hour overview of specific laws and regulations that govern mortgage loan originators operating in Utah. Topics covered include:

  • Recent rule changes,
  • Utah as a non-disclosure and non-community ownership state,
  • Licensing and renewal regulations,
  • Prohibited acts,
  • Advertising as an MLO, the authority of the Division of Real Estate, and mortgage loan products.
$45

Late CE: 8 Hour SAFE Core and Elective 2020 MLO Utah (12073)

clock hour icon 8h course

This course is designed to address your 2020 Late CE needs.

This 8 hour course offers 7 hours of core and 1 hour of general elective. This course will address a variety of topics including:

  • Federal lending laws such as the SAFE Act
  • ECOA and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • Ethics, fraud, and consumer protection
  • Non-traditional mortgage loan products
  • HomeStyle® renovation mortgage loans
$39

2 Hour UT SAFE 2021 State Law Course

clock hour icon 2h course

Mortgage loan originators in Utah can satisfy their state-specific elective requirement towards the 10 hours of annual continuing education needed for license renewal with this course. Topics of interest include:

  • Recent amendments to state codes
  • Licensing standards
  • Unprofessional conduct to avoid
  • Data security,
  • Real case studies of application approvals, denials, and disciplinary actions taken against licensees in the state.
$30

Late CE: 2 Hour UT SAFE 2020 State Law Course (12067)

clock hour icon 2h course

This course is designed to address your 2020 Late CE needs.

Mortgage loan originators in Utah can satisfy their state-specific elective requirement towards the 10 hours of annual continuing education needed for license renewal with this course. Topics of interest include:

  • Recent amendments to state codes
  • Licensing standards
  • Unprofessional conduct to avoid
  • Data security,
  • Real case studies of application approvals, denials, and disciplinary actions taken against licensees in the state.

How To Renew A Utah NMLS License

MLO Continuing Education Requirements for Utah 

No matter which state issued your MLO license, you're subject to specific mortgage education requirements because of the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act). This legislation requires that all state-licensed MLOs take 7 hours of approved NMLS CE, in addition to Utah specific course requirements.

You can't take just any NMLS course to reach those hours. Your Utah NMLS training needs to cover specific topics and you need to take your mortgage education with an NMLS-approved provider. 

DRE Licensees renewing for the 1st time are required to obtain 15 total hours by October 31st, consisting of:

  • 3 hours on relevant federal regulations and law
  • 2 hours of ethics training (including training on consumer protection, fair lending issues, and fraud)
  • 2 hours on lending standards for nontraditional mortgage products
  • 1 hour of elective
  • 2 hours of specific Utah-approved annual update course
  • 5 hours of Post Licensing education

 

After your first renewal, DRE license holders are required to attain 10 total hours of CE by December 15th, that must consist of:

  • 3 Hours of Federal Law Updates
  • 2 Hours of Ethics, Fraud, Consumer Protection, & Fair Lending
  • 2 Hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Products
  • 1 Hour of Elective
  • 2 Hours of Utah Law

 

DFI Licensees require 8 hours of CE by December 31st, that must consist of:

  • 3 Hours of Federal Law Updates
  • 2 Hours of Ethics, Fraud, Consumer Protection, & Fair Lending
  • 2 Hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Products
  • 1 Hour of Elective


While the NMLS oversees the general CE requirements and helps with recordkeeping of your completed hours, it's important to know any Utah specific requirements that may apply to you.

 

How Do I Know If I'm Required To Take My CE This Year Or Not?

Generally, if you obtained your license after 2009 but before this year, the above NMLS CE requirements apply to you. If you obtained your license this year (and assuming you completed the required pre-license education), you don't need to complete any additional mortgage education this year. 

 

Successive Year Rule

Per the SAFE Act, you cannot take the same NMLS course for two years in a row. To avoid this possible overlap, AYPORealEstate creates brand new NMLS-approved CE courses every single year to comply with this rule.

 

NMLS Late CE Courses Making Up Your Continuing Education

Late CE is required during the annual reinstatement period:

  • If you missed the deadline to renew your MLO license this year, and you need to make up the 8 hours of approved Late CE 
  • If you have an MLO license that's been expired for a while, and you need to meet the NMLS continuing education requirements for the last year during which your license was active


To summarize, if you miss the deadline or you are returning to the industry, you will need 7 hours of NMLS course work, 1 hour elective, and DRE licensees need 2 hours of Utah Law, all as 'Late CE' -  aside from the current year CE requirement -  to renew your MLO license. 

These hours need to come from a specifically designated NMLS 'Late CE' course. The NMLS maintains a catalog of approved courses so you can find the Late CE class you need. 

AYPORealEstate is an approved Late CE provider and can help you get your Late Continuing Education done, on time.

 

UT Mortgage Loan Originator CE Deadline

The deadline for UT DRE Licensees renewing for the 1st time is October 31st.

The deadline for UT DRE license holders renewal is December 15th.

The deadline for UT DFI Licensees renewal is December 31st.

Take note: MLOs in Utah are prevented from applying to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Stay on top of the NMLS continuing education requirements so CE hours never stand between you & your renewal. Contact us or enroll today to beat the deadline!