AYPORealEstate.com

What's The Easiest Way to Get My Texas Real Estate License?

If you want to become a Texas real estate sales agent, you need to do a few things first. But don’t worry. The process requires multiple steps, but none of them are overly complex. Really, you’re just looking at setting aside a significant chunk of time to complete the required qualifying pre-license education. 

Here’s a quick look at what’s required to become a real estate sales agent in the state of Texas, along with a step-by-step guide. 

What are the requirements to get a Texas real estate license?

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) lays out a few specific requirements for people who are interested in becoming real estate sales agents. Specifically, you have to:

  • Be at least 18 years old

  • Be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien

  • Meet the TREC’s requirements for integrity, trustworthiness, and honesty

That last point can feel a little nebulous, but it basically means you don’t have a criminal background or unpaid judgments against you. You also must not have performed work without the required license or have received discipline regarding any type of license. 

Additionally, in order to work as a sales agent, you’ll need to have a licensed broker sponsor you. That basically means you work for them when you start your sales agent career. 

What are the steps to get a Texas real estate license?

If you’re eligible to become a real estate sales agent, do these things to get your license:

  1. File the application: To file online, register as a user with the TREC, then use their Online Licensing Service to submit your application. Alternatively, you can use their paper application and mail it in. 

  2. Get fingerprinted: The TREC uses this to perform a background check on you. 

  3. Take the required education hours: You need to finish 180 hours of pre-license education with a qualifying education provider. The hours need to cover specific topics. Your course hours should break down like this:

    1. 30 hours on Principles of Real Estate I

    2. 30 hours on Principles of Real Estate II

    3. 30 hours on Law of Agency

    4. 30 hours on Law of Contracts

    5. 30 hours on Promulgated Contract Forms

    6. 30 hours on Real Estate Finance

  4. Pass the exam: This test gets administered by Pearson VUE

Finish these steps and find a broker to sponsor your application. Once you do, the TREC should approve your application and issue your Texas real estate sales agent license. 

Tips to make it easier to get your Texas real estate license

That process isn’t too complicated, but it does take some time. You can make it easier on yourself by:

  • Confirming you meet the requirements first: If you’re not sure if you’ll meet the TREC’s requirements to become a sales agent, you can use their Fitness Determination form to find out. 

  • Checking your application status online: If you use the TREC’s Online Services to submit your application, you can track the progress of your application online.  

  • Taking your course hours online: There’s no need to dedicate over four workweeks of hours to sitting in a classroom. Some TREC-approved education providers offer their courses online so you can take them at your convenience from the comfort of your home, office, or any other place you have an internet connection. 

  • Choosing a course provider that offers perks: Certain providers offer you benefits like a guarantee that if you don’t pass your exam on your first try, they’ll refund your course cost. 

Use these tips and getting your Texas real estate sales agent license should be a breeze.