2 Hour OR SAFE 2023 State Law Course
- 2 Hour Course
The purpose of this 2 hour class is to provide mortgage loan originators in Oregon with a comprehensive overview of the laws and regulations that affect them. This course is made up of two modules.
The first module of this course is concerned with the overall regulatory framework. This module will start with a look at the SAFE Act and its influence on the regulations in Oregon. We will then examine Oregon’s Mortgage Lending Law (codified in Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 86A) with special focus on licensing requirements and restrictions. Topics such as the handling of client funds, prohibited practices and conduct of mortgage professionals, record availability for the Director, restrictions on negative amortization loans, and disclosure are also covered here.
The second module dives into Oregon Administrative Rules and highlights some additional rules and Oregon-specific amendments related to mortgage loan origination. Further information on MLO licensing, what constitutes dishonest, fraudulent, or illegal conduct as a mortgage professional, record keeping practices, and reverse mortgages are covered.
To promote comprehension, students will complete a 5-question quiz and short activity after each module. A 15-question final exam will wrap up the course.
Show Course ID: 1
- Course ID(s): 15132
- Approved By: NMLS
Mary Tillery, an originating branch manager at Synergy One Lending in Grants Pass, Oregon, believes that buying a home is one of life’s true milestones. For more than 35 years, she has been teaching lending education classes and helping homebuyers achieve their dreams. Mary combines her love of knowledge with her passion for people in her roles as a loan originator and educator. From first-time mortgages to complex construction financing, she is happy to share her expertise with clients and industry professionals alike.