Utah Real Estate Continuing Education
Complete your continuing education to renew your Utah real estate license today. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace online in order to help you maintain your license. Once you finish your class you will have an official certificate of completion available and we will report your course completion to the UT Division of Real Estate for you automatically.
We are approved by the Utah Department of Commerce (Division of Real Estate Provider ID 9536962-CEP0).
Utah 3 Hour Mandatory Residential Core Course
This Utah 3-hour mandatory course was designed with the real estate professional in mind, and contains 3 credit hours towards the 9 required hours of core education for renewing your license.
It contains all of the topic areas required by the DRE for this core course:
- Agency Basics,
- Real Estate Purchase Contract Basics, and
- Code Updates and Industry Issues
Each of these topics work together to give you all the training you need to get a head start on renewing your real estate license!
Utah 12 Hour New Agent Course
This course is designed for new agents renewing their license for the first time. It contains the required 12 hours on the core subjects of
- State and Federal Updates
Utah 9 Hour Complete Core Package
This Utah 9 hour course package was designed to give the real estate professional all of the core-specific training they need to renew their license.
This package includes:
- Utah 3 Hour Residential Mandatory Core Course
- Utah 6 Hour Core Course
Both of these courses work together to give you 9 of the 18 required credit hours for the renewal of your real estate license.
Utah 9 Hour Real Estate Elective: Funding, Equality, & Marketing
This 9-hour course includes all of the elective education hours required for most real estate licensees' renewal. Together with our 9-hour core course, it offers all 18 hours of CE required in Utah.
Topics we'll cover in this 9-hour course include loan programs available to real estate purchasers, fair housing regulations, advertising rules, and sales agreements used in real estate.
Utah 6 Hour Core Course
This Utah 6 hour course was crafted for real estate professionals, and includes 6 credit hours towards the 9 required hours of core education used for renewing your license. The other 3 hours may be completed with the Mandatory course.
The course contains the required topic areas:
- Real Estate Ethics
- Errors and Omissions
Utah 3 Hour Elective Course
This course contains 3 hours of elective credit to round off the total 18 hours needed. Topics include real estate mathematics and methods for transferring a property title.
Utah Real Estate License Renewal Dates and Continuing Education Requirements
- Utah Real Estate licenses expire every two years.
- You may renew your license up to 45 days before its expiration date.
- You can find your expiration date printed on the bottom of your license or verify it using the Utah Division of Real Estate’s online licensee database.
To maintain active license status, you must complete all Utah continuing education (CE) requirements by the 15th day of your renewal month. This timing avoids incurring a late fee and ensures on-time renewal.
If it’s your first real estate license renewal, your CE requirements include:
- A 12-hour new agent course
- 3 hours of a Division-approved mandatory course
- 3 hours of either elective or core topics
After your first renewal period, you must complete the following 18 CE credits every two-year cycle:
- 6 hours of core topic courses
- 3 hours of a Division-approved mandatory course
- 9 hours of elective coursework
If you do not renew your license before its expiration date, you can apply for a late renewal within 30 days. After this point, your license can be reinstated by completing:
- 24 CE hours, for licenses 31 days to 6 months past expiration
- 42 CE hours, for licenses 6 to 12 months past expiration
To fulfill your license renewal continuing education credit hours, AYPORealEstate has CE course packages that meet Utah Division of Real Estate requirements.
Update on Background Check Information and Fingerprinting
All real estate license renewals in the state of Utah require the licensee to obtain a fingerprint background check and enroll in the FBI’s Rap Back Fingerprint System.
Licensees should first visit the Utah Division of Real Estate’s website to review and sign an electronic consent form. The Division’s website also has a list of locations around the state where licensees can comply with this fingerprinting regulation.
However, due to COVID-19 concerns and restrictions, fingerprinting is currently suspended for license renewal. The Utah Division of Real Estate will notify licensees when this requirement resumes.
Information on Final Exams
There is no final exam score requirement to earn CE credits toward your Utah real estate license renewal.
Rules on Repeating Courses
You can only complete a CE course once per renewal term to receive credit toward your requirement.