How to Renew a Connecticut Real Estate License

Written by Kacie Goff

Some recent changes have shifted the renewal process for licensed real estate professionals in Connecticut. For starters, while you technically still can submit your renewal application in the mail, the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) strongly encourages online renewals. 

Beyond that, they just changed the renewal deadline for licensed brokers.

Ultimately, it’s important that you’re up to date on the latest with the Connecticut real estate license renewal process. Here’s what you should know. 

Renewal deadlines for Connecticut real estate brokers and salespeople

Both real estate salespeople and brokers need to renew annually. 

  • Broker license renewal deadlines have shifted from March 31 to November 30.
  • Salesperson licenses need to be renewed by May 31

You should get a renewal notice via email or mail about a month before your deadline. To make sure you get it, email dcp.licenseservices@ct.gov with any email or mailing address changes. 

The required continuing education

All Connecticut real estate licensees need continuing education (CE) as a requirement for renewal. Fortunately, you don’t have to worry about this on an annual basis.

Instead, your CE is due by your renewal deadline every even-numbered year. That means you need to have your CE completed by your deadline in 2022, 2024, 2026, etc. 

Both brokers and salespeople need 12 hours of CE during each two-year cycle

The DCP hasn’t yet released their CE requirements for the 2022-2024 CE cycle, but they should publish that information on their CE webpage when they do. 

Historically, though, they have required the 12 hours to break down accordingly:

  • Two three-hour classes approved by the Real Estate Commission on:
    • Connecticut real estate law
    • Understanding and preventing racial bias in real estate
  • Six hours of elective course

Fortunately, you have the option to take some or all of your CE hours online whenever it’s convenient for you. 

Once you finish any hours, your education provider should issue you a certificate of completion. The state requires you to hang onto that for four years. If you get audited, you’ll need to upload those certificates.

Completing your renewal online

Because the DCP wants licensees to renew online, let’s walk through that process. 

It all starts in the eLicense portal

If you got a Fast Track pin number with your renewal notice, you can use this guide to navigate through the renewal process.

If you only have your User ID, this is the guide to use. 

Either route you take, you’ll need to pay the renewal fee. Brace yourself: it’s pretty hefty in Connecticut:

  • Broker renewals cost $375
  • Salesperson renewals cost $289

You’ll pay that fee as part of the online renewal process. You can use a Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, or eCheck (the DCP calls it a “check draft”). 


Whether you have a broker or salesperson license in Connecticut, you need to stay on top of your annual renewal deadline. You also need to make sure you get 12 CE hours completed by your renewal date in every even-numbered year. Mark your calendar so nothing slips through the cracks and compromises your license.