On April 1, 2022, Act 193 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session in Louisiana went into effect. That means new license renewal dates for Louisiana real estate salespeople and brokers — and that deadline can sneak up on you pretty quickly.
There’s no need to panic, though. This information will help you get your renewal in on time.
Per Act 193, the submission windows for this renewal cycle are:
If you don’t get your renewal in by the end of the year, you’ll have to reapply for your license from the start, which means taking the pre-license education course and passing the exam all over again. Ultimately, it’s well worth marking your calendar to make sure you get everything handled on time.
During this 2022 period, you can renew your license before you get your continuing education (CE) done — but you still need to get your CE completed by the end of the year. So, for example, you could renew by the September 30 deadline to avoid a late fee, then knock out your CE in November. Don’t let it slip your mind, though, because if you don’t get it done by December 31, you sign yourself up for the annual CE audit and you might have to pay a fine, too.
That, of course, begs the question: how much CE do you need before the year ends? 12 Commission-approved hours, to be exact.
Four of your hours need to come from a mandatory course, which changes from year to year. This year, for salespeople, it’s “2022 Mandatory Course Topic – 36 Ways to Lose Your License.” For commercial real estate pros, it’s “2022 Commercial Mandatory Alternate – Valuation: What Commercial Clients Need Their Agents to Know.” There is no mandatory course for brokers this year.
To make it easier to get your CE each year, the LREC approves certain CE providers to offer hours online that you can take at your own pace.
To be eligible for renewal, you’ll need to have errors and omissions (E&O) insurance for 2023. You can opt into the LREC group policy or show the state that you have your own coverage.
With all of those steps completed, you’re ready to submit your renewal using the MyLREC portal. Under the “Log in” button, there are links to help if you forgot your user ID or password. As part of that process, you’ll be able to pay your renewal fee. It’s $70 for brokers and $35 for salespeople.
If you run into any roadblocks during the renewal process or you have questions, you can reach out to the LREC support team at email@example.com.